Stations (2015)

Stations … Places of departure and arrival. From Bach to the composers of today, they have all lived through different periods or stations. In this concert project we want to show the imprints (Italian: Impronta) that they left there in order to go on.

The concert program

1. Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992): Méditation IX. from „Méditations sur le mystére de la Sainte Trinité“
2. Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Counterpoints 4 and 5 from the Art of the Fugue (BWV 1080)
3. Christian Dachez (*1951): Die Treibenden for alto und organ (premiere)
4. Johann Sebastian Bach: Ich bin vergnügt in meinem Leiden (from BWV 58) for soprano, violin and continuo
5. Johann Sebastian Bach: Agnus Dei (aus der h-Moll Messe BWV 232) for alto, violin and continuo
6. Dmitri Schostakowitsch (1906-1975): String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor op. 108 (1960)

Possible stations

  • 1960 Shostakovich joins the communist party in a forced manner, politically important station for him in the culturally controlled USSR.
  • Bach’s art of the fugue is regarded as instrumental and the Mass in B minor as a spiritual compendium of his life – the final stage of his life and work. Bach’s arias (“Ich bin vergnügt” 1726, the parody of Agnus Dei 1722 in BWV 11 and 1749 as Agnus Dei in the Mass in B Minor) span the arc from the early to the late Bach – stations of the beginning and the end.
  • Dachez’s “Die Treibenden” as a update of Rilke’s text catapulted into the present: Text Station

Concert dates

24 January 2015, 19:30, St. Josef, Mannheim (D)
25 January 2015, 19:00, Antonitercitykirche, Cologne (D)