Vent d’hiver (2013)

In our opinion, Vivaldi’s winter today is the melodious white snow landscape on a sunny winter morning. Numerous and wonderful recordings testify to this. Exactly the opposite picture is what Vivaldi meant. Exactly this severe winter wind – vent d’hiver – and the icy coldness we try to trace in our concert. On the other hand, we present Piazzolla’s Winter, a tango composition that traces the winter in Buenos Aires.

Mondonville is a largely unknown baroque composer, especially in Germany. His progressive musical style sounds quite impressive when you consider that he composed the sonata at the age of 23.

In addition to this baroque pole in our concert, we also include a world premiere by Robert Oetomo, alongside Latin American tango and modern classics such as Paul Hindemith. “Soar” means as much as floating or gliding – the excellent and conciliatory conclusion to let Vivaldi’s winds carry us into a peaceful Christmas.

The concert program

1. Jean-Joeseph Cassanéa de Mondonville (1711-1772): Sonata in e for 2 violins and continuo
2. Paul Hindemith (1895-1963): 3 kleine Stücke for 2 violins
3. Antonio Lucio Vivaldi (1678-1741): The winter (l’inverno) for solo violin and strings, op. 8, RV 297
4. Astor Pantaleón Piazzolla (1921-1992): Invierno Porteño for solo violin and strings, arr. Leonid Desyatnikov
5. Robert Oetomo (*1988): Soar – Concerto No. 1 for marimba and strings (premiere)

Robert Oetomo, marimba
Impronta – Ensemble für neue Musik

Jeanne Vogt, Livia Hermann, violin
Andreas Luca Beraldo, harpsichord and conductor


1 december 2013, 19:00, St. Josef, Mannheim (D)
14 december 2013, 19:00, Rotaryclub, Ludwigshafen (D)